auntiemeesh: (Default)
[personal profile] auntiemeesh
I'm home! The cats survived, despite a broken water main, and I was happy to see them.

I love my camera. I will never be a photographer, and I haven't really figured out how to use it to best effect, so a lot of my pictures are less than crisp and clear, but I got pictures of some great costumes.

So, on to the Dragon*con mega report.

Thursday was fourteen hours in the car. We pulled in to the Marriott just at midnight. Met up with [livejournal.com profile] rock_biologist and pretty much crashed.

Friday, the fun started. We got up earlyish to stand in line to pick up our badges. Thursday evening or Friday morning is the time to do this. Later in the weekend the line for registration went out the building and down the block. There must be a better way to do it.

We spent most of the day in the room, finishing up the cat/nun costumes. Those things were a bitch and a half to get done, but we finally finished them up in the wee hours of Saturday morning. Friday afternoon we took a break to walk around, check out some costumes, and ran into [livejournal.com profile] suenix. We hit the Stargate Atlantis fan panel, which was pretty entertaining - in the sense that the panel was run by four fangirls that spent the entire time squeeing over Rodney McKay. They were attempting to give a rundown of Season three but half of them hadn't even seen all the episodes, so it was a little patchy. I don't actually remember if I took any pictures on Friday. Sadly, I dumped all the pics off my memory card saturday morning, so I lost everything I took before noon or so.

Saturday started off with a bang. The parade starts at ten, so we had to get up and get our costumes and makeup on, and find our way to the meeting place before then. [livejournal.com profile] eve11 and I walked with the Doctor Who contingent, of whom there were about thrity. The parade is so much fun, being part of this huge group of people who all share the love of costuming, for whatever reason they do it. The parade winds through several blocks of downtown Atlanta, ending up back at the marriott, where the DW group gathered for group photos.

There were lots of Doctors - all ten were represented at least once.
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

We made quite a group all gathered together.
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

The cat/nuns with Lady Cassandra, the last human. I'm the one on the right.
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

A close up of the cat faces - the prosthetic is, unfortunately, pulling away from my eye.
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

For me, the best part of Dragon*Con is doing the costuming, wandering around as someone else, seeing all the other great (and some not so great) costumes. There are anime characters, characters straight out of books, movies, tv shows, comic books. There are girls who dress in hoop skirts, corsets, fairy costumes, sometimes not much more than body paint and pasties. During the day there are small kids running around dressed as Jedi Knights and astronauts, but at night some of the costumes get pretty risque. There are the aforesaid mostly naked women, people with collars and chains (it's usually men being led around by women) and a whole host of other stuff fun stuff. This is just a small sampling of the many and varied costumes at this year's Dragon*Con.

We saw these Venture Bros. Henchmen on Saturday...
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

...and the Monarch on Sunday.
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

There were a ton of Harry Potter costumes, mostly just people running around in house robes - lots of Gryffindor and some Slytherin. We saw a really great group dressed up as the Azkaban Quidditch team but didn't catch a picture of it. I did get a pic of this random Quidditch player (a Seeker, judging by the Golden Snitch in her hand) and Professor Quirrell.
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

I also ran across Snape, boldly displaying his Dark Mark.
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Our roommie, [livejournal.com profile] rock_biologist, in his fabulous D'Argo outfit.
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Here's the Doctor and Rose, with their pet Dalek. It got a lot of comments, particularly re: the Dalek's limp appendages (it's been neutered).
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

There are certain fandoms that are always extremely well-represented. Star Wars is possibly the biggest, with the 501st Legion of Stormtroopers and about a horde of Leias, mostly in slave garb. But there are also always a few people who find ways to make the Star Wars costumes original. Two years ago there was a LEGO Darth Vader. This year my favorite Star Wars costume was this trio of people dressed as Chewbacca, Vader and a stormtrooper, all made out of cardboard boxes and duct tape.
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

I also really liked this Stormtrooper clean-up crew.
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

On Sunday, we had a last minute costuming extravaganza. [livejournal.com profile] eve11 wanted to have a second run at Aku (we took him out on Friday but I didn't get any pics). Before we could do that, though, we decided to make a Samurai Jack to go along with it. So, Sunday morning (and mid-afternoon) was spent in the room creating Jack. We had no intention of spending any money on this costume and it took a little doing to figure out how to do Jack's robe (a bed sheet could have worked if we'd been able to cut it but foldig just wouldn't do) but one hotel bathrobe later and we were in business. We used 2mm craft foam and foam board (donated by [livejournal.com profile] rock_biologist to make the face, sword and some shoes.

The sword, face, robe and shoes, finally finished.
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Samurai Jack and Aku, in action. After getting Jack put together, we went out and wandered around for a little while (or at least planted ourselves somewhere for a while - Aku was up on stilts and neither of us could see very well).
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

I didn't go to any panels on Saturday or Sunday but I really wanted to catch at least one of the big Stargate panels, and there was one at ten yesterday morning. I'm glad I went. It was a lot of fun, even if I didn't learn anything terribly new or important about either show. The panel consisted of Vanessa Angel (I think she played a Tokra at some point), Christopher Judge, Michael Shanks, Lexa Doig, Alexis Cruz and Jason Momoa.

Christopher Judge came on stage carrying a half-empty bottle of beer.
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Michael Shanks followed, also with beer. Lexa Doig made a point of displaying that she was drinking coffee when she came on, Alexis Cruz had both beer and coffee, and Jason Momoa had beer, too. Other than Lexa, they all seemed to be more 'still drunk' than 'hung over.'

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Jason spent most of the panel leaned back in his chair, trying to sleep, but every now and again he was pulled into the conversation. He was also drinking lots of water, straight out of the big pitcher on the table. I failed to get a picture of that, but did catch him grinning at Christopher Judge.
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

At these sorts of things, most of the audience questions are stupid and/or obnoxious and this time was no exception. One question led to an interesting discussion of how crappy the Zat guns are, with Chris Judge demonstrating how they work, with hand motions.
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

The panel was mostly the Chris and Michael show, with the two of them taking it in turn to give each other grief, dodging more that's not my questions than they answered. The panel started off with a woman asking Michael about Mega Snake. He immediately cut her off, ordering her to stop right there. Her response: "Sweetie, if I had to sit through it, the least you can do is answer a question about it." He replied: "Sweetie, if you have nothing better to do with your time, that's your problem." There was much laughter and some more back and forth before the Mega Snake subject was dropped.

The most obnoxious question asked was by some woman who wanted to know, if the actors had to choose, would they rather be rich, bloated, conceited movie stars like Charleton Heston, or responsible, well-behaved tv stars like Richard Dean Anderson.

Michael Shanks: "Why do I feel like we're being led down a path, here?" Considering that Chris had already spent a good bit of time rhapsodizing about acid tripping and sex during the filming of the pilot, he simply asked which paid more.

The question that led to the most interesting answer was one man's comment about Dragon*con being about creative expression, and Michael Shanks agreed, but asked that this expression stop short of furries. Chris couldn't understand why, and there was much squirming as Michael tried to get Chris to drop it until later, mention that there were children in the audience. Chris totally didn't understand what that had to do with anything and finally Lexa whispered in his ear for a minute. His reaction was perfect. "What?! What!!!?! And I haven't done this?" Lexa: "Haven't you ever seen CSI?" It really was pretty hilarious.

After that, the con was pretty much over. We did go to one more panel, a costuming one, in which a group of professional costume/make-up effects guys talked about mistakes they've experienced in the trade. Some pretty interesting/frightening stories of wardrobe and prop malfunction, as well as mold-making/make-up disasters (one guy told a story of an idiot on a slasher flick who glued prosthetics to an actress with flooring adhesive - the poor girl was permanently scarred when the stuff burned her).

We did a bunch of plotting and planning on the trip home and now have a short list of costume ideas for next year. It will be time to get started on that pretty soon, but for now, I really need to buckle down and find a job. Back to the real world for me, sadly.

Date: 2007-09-05 02:26 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] dativesingular.livejournal.com
I wonder if I could go and then write off the costs as "professional development." A couple people on my FL have posted pics from DC and it just looks like so much fun!

Date: 2007-09-05 02:33 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] auntiemeesh.livejournal.com
It really is pretty amazingly fun. There's something for everyone of geek persuasion. If you're not into costuming, there's panels ranging from actors to movie showings to discussions of comics, etc. You could spend the entire weekend just wandering around the dealer's rooms. Meeting other lj folks is always a big part of it, too. :)

Date: 2007-09-05 02:49 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] ctegan.livejournal.com
Great photos! Thank you so much for sharing.

DragonCon seems like so much fun. : )

Date: 2007-09-05 12:45 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] auntiemeesh.livejournal.com
Thanks. D*C really is just a blast to be at. :)

Date: 2007-09-05 02:57 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] liptonrm.livejournal.com
Holy crap, your costume is amazing! And you made it all! That's really impressive.

DragonCon sounds like the Con to attend. So glad to hear that you had such a great time. =D

Date: 2007-09-05 12:49 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] auntiemeesh.livejournal.com
DragonCon sounds like the Con to attend.

I think it is, at least for me. I had fun at ComicCon in 2004, and for the panels, that's the place to go because they get the tv and movie stars (like the Supernatural boys) who won't come to D*C (of course then you spend the whole day doing nothing but waiting in line for those panels), but for sheer fun and running around and meeting up with people, this is it.

Date: 2007-09-05 04:04 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] grey-wonderer.livejournal.com
Brilliant photos. Looks like you had an amazing time!

Date: 2007-09-05 12:49 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] auntiemeesh.livejournal.com
Thanks, I did. :)

Date: 2007-09-05 10:15 am (UTC)
slightlytookish: John and Gale looking at each other against a blue background (HP: Trio)
From: [personal profile] slightlytookish
Great pics! I love the costumes. The cat/nuns turned out very well :D

Date: 2007-09-05 12:50 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] auntiemeesh.livejournal.com
Thank you. They certainly were a labor of love, so I'm glad they turned out well.

Date: 2007-09-05 11:19 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] whtmtnwmn.livejournal.com
Great job on the costumes! Your photos came out really well! There are lots of features on that model of camera, but considering how dark it was in there, you did great.

The SG panel sounds a little, er, disappointing...were they really hung-over?

Can't wait to see what you creative types come up with for next year!
=D

Date: 2007-09-05 12:53 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] auntiemeesh.livejournal.com
The SG panel really wasn't disappointing at all. Keep in mind that it was the fourth panel this crew had done, and it was first thing Monday morning, the very tail end of the con. They were exhausted and still putting on a good (if fairly trashed) face for the audience. Alexis Cruz (Skaara) was really on the ball, answering questions with a lot of thought and intelligence, but the rest of them were just boys being boys, which is really a lot of fun to watch. :)

Date: 2007-09-05 11:37 am (UTC)
shirebound: (Default)
From: [personal profile] shirebound
Your outfits came out great. What a joy for you to be with others who put so much care into making costumes.

Date: 2007-09-05 12:54 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] auntiemeesh.livejournal.com
Thanks. I always think my costumes look great, until I get there and see some of the other stuff people have done - one guy built his own vacuum mold so that he could create a huge robot/transformer-type costume.

Date: 2007-09-05 01:30 pm (UTC)
eve11: (Default)
From: [personal profile] eve11
We can totally do that for next year. Vaccuum molding!

Date: 2007-09-05 06:05 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] auntiemeesh.livejournal.com
Of course, I don't think I actually want to wear something like that - it must weigh a ton!

Date: 2007-09-05 11:55 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] lyda-pearl.livejournal.com
Those cardboard and duct tape costumes are more my speed...Your CatNun looks fabulous. Glad you had fun.

Date: 2007-09-05 12:55 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] auntiemeesh.livejournal.com
I thought you'd like them. :)

Date: 2007-09-05 04:42 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] ani-no-mouse.livejournal.com
The cardboard and duct tape ones were my faves too ... other than yours, of course!

Date: 2007-09-05 06:06 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] auntiemeesh.livejournal.com
Well, of course! It really is fun to just do costume watching and see what wacky thing is going to show up next.

Date: 2007-09-05 07:55 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] eridun.livejournal.com
man, now I all kinds of miss going to sci-fi cons... :(

Great costumes, both of you! That pict with all the Drs is great!!!!

Date: 2007-09-06 02:39 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] auntiemeesh.livejournal.com
Thanks. I always feel just the littlest bit sad about any con I don't get to go to (which is way more than the cons I do get to go to, unfortunately) but this one sort of makes up for all the others. :)

Date: 2007-09-06 06:20 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] arthurfrdent.livejournal.com
Kids, you surely looked fabooo... some year I'm gonna have to make a pilgrimage, cuz of all the things to see and do... I've always thought hellboy for myself, but we'll have to see. Lately I've been watching an anime called Naruto, and there is a character there too, possibly Jiriya. He's older which fits for me... heh, and it looks like there are parts of his character which could be fun. :D Additionally, the costume is more in line with your Samurai Jack, rather than body paint and prosthetics hellboy would call for... although I would love to make a tail I could control by wire, heh, cuz' that'd be hours of entertainment...

Date: 2007-09-07 10:48 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] auntiemeesh.livejournal.com
You should definitely make the trek some year, that would be awesome! Wire controlled tail, eh? *thinks evil thoughts*

Date: 2007-09-06 05:08 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] maniacmarshall.livejournal.com
I really enjoyed meeting the two of you at the parade, and especially getting to talk to you at the dinner this weekend. I was the fifth doctor (the one in the back in the picture), and Rachel and I were the last ones to arrive at the dinner. I'm absolutely terrible with names, so I'm actually not sure which of you is which. I think it was your friend I sat next to at dinner, but let me know so I can keep you straight from here on in.

I just got home at 11pm last night myself. I ended up staying over till yesterday because I had only managed to get about 20 hours sleep in 6 nights, and was afraid I wouldn't be able to make the 750 mile drive home alone without doing a head-dash. Then I made the drive in less than 11 hours, so now I'm exhausted again.

I share your pain about the real world. I have to go look for a place to move to tomorrow. What fun. At least we have next year to look forward to right? :)

Date: 2007-09-06 05:39 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] auntiemeesh.livejournal.com
I think it was your friend I sat next to at dinner,

Yep, that was [livejournal.com profile] eve11.

It seems perfectly sensible to wait until you're not passing out from exhaustion to start a 20 hr trip. You must not have stopped at all to make it in 11 hrs going back. Good luck with the move - I just moved to a new apartment this spring and I'm hoping to not have to do that again any time soon!

Date: 2007-09-06 06:23 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] maniacmarshall.livejournal.com
I stopped once for gas in Metropolis, which is the first town in Illinois and almost exactly halfway from Atlanta to here. I had a "little incident" at the gas station (you'll just have to read my con report when I get it posted).

I'm moving two and a half hours away... I start working at that store Monday... So I'll be doing the hotel thing for a while unfortunately. I'll need all the luck I can get.

I need to stop responding to everyone else and post my report, but I'm being lazy...

Date: 2007-09-06 06:36 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] werewulf.livejournal.com
We were quite glad to meet you guys there as well. Especially since having you two around meant that Cassandra had company from her same episode.

I was the taller of the two Cassandra handlers... [livejournal.com profile] ginevra007 was the shorter of us two.

Looking forward to next year!

Hugs and Howls from
Werewulf
aka Attendant to the Lady Cassandra

Date: 2007-09-06 10:58 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] auntiemeesh.livejournal.com
You were the one with the Treehouse game, right? It was great to meet you, too.

Next year we're going to have to be more on top of things, and get the colored I.V. bags to complete the costume. :)

Date: 2007-09-06 10:19 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] acciochocolate.livejournal.com
Great pics and good con notes and awesome costumes! I was cosplaying as Rose in Ten's suit at the after parade pic shoot, btw. And we sorta sat across the table from y'all at the Steak and Ale dinner. Mike and I hope to have our pics up soon. And like you, I need to get job-hunting, alas.

~aka Kim over at the PrydonAcademy list at yahoogroups

Date: 2007-09-06 10:59 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] auntiemeesh.livejournal.com
What sort of job are you hunting for?

Date: 2007-09-07 12:40 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] kay-brooke.livejournal.com
Great pictures and report. :)

It's been hard to go back to real life after D*C!

Date: 2007-09-07 10:50 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] auntiemeesh.livejournal.com
Too true! One of the kids from work had a little toy Blooregard from Foster's Home for Imaginary Friends at work today and my first thought was - that would be a great costume to do! Yeah, it will be a while before I get my 'real world' head back on straight.

Date: 2007-09-07 02:50 pm (UTC)
fyrdrakken: (Donna)
From: [personal profile] fyrdrakken
Hi, I was the pink Romana at the parade. Great photos -- thanks for passing the link along on the mailing list.

Date: 2007-09-07 10:53 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] auntiemeesh.livejournal.com
Hi! It was great meeting everyone at the parade. Glad you liked the photos. :)

Date: 2007-09-07 07:42 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] rock-biologist.livejournal.com
Thank you so much for the report and pictures! It was great having a front-row seat during the creation of the cat nuns and Samurai Jack! :-D

Date: 2007-09-07 10:54 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] auntiemeesh.livejournal.com
Just sit back and watch the insanity happen! :)

Profile

auntiemeesh: (Default)
auntiemeesh

January 2017

S M T W T F S
12 34567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 29th, 2026 03:50 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios