auntiemeesh: (Default)
[personal profile] auntiemeesh
I started writing this as a comment to [livejournal.com profile] apple_pi's SGA reaction post, but it was getting long and out of hand so I moved it over here.



Well, right from the getgo I thought the Satedans were complete asses, but I sadly, humbly, must admit, I didn't twig onto their duplicity until I had it thrust in my face. I'm not sure what to blame my thickness on, other than the fact that it's first thing in the morning, I've been sick for a week, and clearly my critical thinking skills have been severely damaged. I think it's just me, though. Sometimes I twig onto stuff immediately and feel cheated at the obviousness of things, and other times I just watch like a sheep and don't see anything coming (much like Shep) until it hits me in the face. This morning I was clearly in 'watch like a sheep' mode. I really should have known, because I expected Teyla to kick their asses when they attacked her and I was really surprised that she couldn't. I also think I was too much in Ronon's headspace, just really wanting it to be good for him. Anyway, moving on.

Carter's arrival - of course Rodney would think they were going to pick him. He's so cute. The one thing I totally saw coming was Sheppard stealing the fruitbasket. Rodney coming in with his piddly little clump of limp flowers and seeing that fruitbasket there was priceless, as was his fumbling attempt to tell Carter that he was off the market.

I've been holding fairly neutral on the Sam issue, neither loving nor hating the idea of her coming in and taking over. I'm still not sure how it's all going to play out, but I thought it went well this time. She's still trying to establish herself here, and doesn't really know any of them well-enough to start going against the IOA for any of them, but Ronon sees things from a different angle. He's come so far in his relationships with these people and he's forgotten that at the beginning it was much different, with Weir barely tolerating his presence.

It's only natural that he would consider leaving Atlantis to be with the Satedans, once he knows he can't bring them to Atlantis, but it's telling that his first instinct is not to join them but to bring them home. It's only when that option is removed that he starts to think about leaving. I think it's interesting that he feels it's his job to bring them home from missions safely. It's been nine years since he last saw them and they've been getting themselves home on their own all that time. It's as if he's willing those years of separation to simply stop existing, wanting to just pick up from where they all left off, as if he was only gone for a few days, as if nothing more exciting than a few days off had happened in the meantime. The reality, of course, is that you can never go back, and he had to figure that out for himself, the hard way.

Teyla kicking Ronon's ass while blindfolded was awesome. I seriously love the relationship those two have. Teyla's not above beating the crap out of someone, but she does it with love, with an honest desire to help them with whatever emotional shit is damaging them even more than her sticks. *loves Teyla* Her speech here, about her decision to be a part of Sheppard's team and having to leave her position as leader of the Athosians was really touching and was important for Ronon to hear, although he's not really ready, just yet, to truly grasp what she's telling him. Sometimes I want to be able to ship these two, but seriously, it's so much more a sibling relationship, with Teyla looking out for Ronon (and the rest of the team, always). She's the one who reins them all in when they get out of control, the one who provides a light in the dark when they get lost. The writers don't always know what to do with her, and her character gets lost in the shuffle far more often than I would like, but she's so much the heart of the team, they'd really be lost without her.
Plus, I really loved Ronon crying Uncle. "Stop hitting me!"

The moments on the Wraith base were not my favorites. Necessary for pulling the plot together, but awkwardly done, for the most part. But that moment at the end, where Carter (not knowing the Satedans have gone darkside) asks Ronon where his friends are and he, all battered and bloody, says 'right here' (don't shoot me if the quote is a little off - I need to rewatch before I can remember exact phrasing, but you get the gist) is a good moment. It was a bit of a cheat though, that in the end he didn't really have to make a choice. There was never any chance that he would go with Wraith worshippers after everything that has happened to him. The moment of his decision would have been much more powerful if he'd been forced to make a real choice between two groups of people, incompatible but both acceptable alternatives.

I love that Rodney took Ronon's painting. Mainly because it's godawful ugly and there's no way Rodney wanted it for anything other than as a memento of a friend he was going to miss, but he couldn't actually say that to Ronon, so he stole his ugly painting instead. *loves Rodney*

This was a less than perfect episode, but the heart of it, the relationships between the members of the team was told really well. Better, in my opinion, than the more forced moments of the first half of season three (seriously, it was painfully obvious that the writers had been ordered to build the team's emotional connections to each other, and that sort of building should never be so obvious).

I've been avoiding all the spoilers for Doppleganger and I didn't even get to see a preview of it because the torrents I get never even have ending credits, let alone next week's preview, but it seems like everyone is pretty excited (and I've read what JM had to say about it as it was filmed) so I'm looking forward to it.

Date: 2007-10-13 06:51 pm (UTC)
ext_18066: Default (Default)
From: [identity profile] apple-pi.livejournal.com
Your idea about why Rodney stole Ronon's painting is the same one I have! In fact, I want to write a wee episode tag with it. :-) Do you mind? (I'm feeling a little antsy with the GOD NO PLAGIARIZING at the moment, with all the stuff going on - you can check [livejournal.com profile] the_drifter's LJ if you don't know what I'm talking about.)

Date: 2007-10-13 07:20 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] auntiemeesh.livejournal.com
I'm guessing whatever's been going on in [livejournal.com profile] the_drifter's lj is friends locked, since I didn't see anything interesting there, but I can imagine someone started up some wankery about stolen ideas or something. *loves fan wankery, really*

I would love to see a tag with Rodney and Ronon, don't feel the need to ask - it would be pretty ridiculous of me to claim ownership of an interpretation of a scene. :)

Date: 2007-10-13 07:28 pm (UTC)
ext_18066: Default (Default)
From: [identity profile] apple-pi.livejournal.com
Oh, no, it's even better - there's some person on FF.net who has stolen ENTIRE SGA stories and reposted them as her own, changing the names and pronouns to make them fit into the One Tree Hill fandom. She didn't even change TITLES. It boggles the mind.

Here is a link to Lenore's journal - she also had a story stolen, and her entry isn't f-locked. Sorry about that!

Also also, thank you! The hive mind strikes again! :-)

Date: 2007-10-13 07:47 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] auntiemeesh.livejournal.com
Wow, some people really are appallingly stupid. I've read that story of Lenore's and really liked it. It's such a shame she should have to go through something this hurtful and annoying.

Speaking (or writing, I suppose) of which, I've been looking for good SGA AUs to read or reread, so I think I'm off to read it again, and maybe leave her a good supportive comment.

Date: 2007-10-13 07:01 pm (UTC)
ext_79824: (Yay!)
From: [identity profile] rhapsody11.livejournal.com
Oi, I knew the moment that guy started to talk to Teyla about Wraiths having an ear to listen to they would lead them into a trap. So yeah that makes this whole episode a lot different.

Personally I liked the moment between Shep and Sam, where Sam said Shep was on the shortlist. Shep's admitting that he didn't look forward to the red tape and politics (because he had seen what it had done to Elizabeth), go Shep, totally him. I still have mixed feelings about Sam there. I liked Weir.

I found Ronon hardheaded and didn't like his action scenes so much. He's not my fav character, but awww Zelenka, I so like him!

Teyla kicking Ronon's ass while blindfolded was awesome. I seriously love the relationship those two have. Teyla's not above beating the crap out of someone, but she does it with love, with an honest desire to help them with whatever emotional shit is damaging them even more than her sticks.

I completely agree. I wasn't much a Teyla fan in the beginning, but I like her a lot more now.

And oh Rodney stealing a painting *snort*, that oughta be a nice talk between Ronon and Rodney.

Date: 2007-10-13 07:30 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] auntiemeesh.livejournal.com
I've really liked Teyla from the get-go and I wish they would give her more to do than stand around supporting the others, but I know she's getting her own storyline at some point this season, so I'll wait for that with hope that it will be handled well.

I love Ronon and really have all the way along - his evolution as a character has been handled well, I think, at least for the most part. It sort of feels to me as though, maturity and emotion-wise, he was at a standstill for the entire seven years he was a Runner, so he's had to do a lot of growing up in the past two years that he's been on Atlantis, and this episode was a good coda to that - him facing the changes that have occured since he lost his home and growing to accept the new reality, not because it's his only choice, but because it's the choice that he wants to make.

And oh Rodney stealing a painting *snort*, that oughta be a nice talk between Ronon and Rodney.

With those two, I think it would be an interesting talk - they'll be passing in the hall, or one of them will join the other (and the rest of the team) in the mess, and Ronon will just stare at Rodney, who'll get all flustered and start saying the most ridiculous things, until Ronon finally takes pity on him and offers to let him have a look at his gun (you know Rodney's been dying to take that thing apart and figure out how to replicate it's effects against the Wraith but Ronon's too smart to let Rodney take it apart). Rodney will get all big eyed and excited and ask if Ronon means it, and Ronon will say no, and laugh, and they'll all be back to normal.

Profile

auntiemeesh: (Default)
auntiemeesh

January 2017

S M T W T F S
12 34567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 29th, 2026 04:01 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios