auntiemeesh: (sleep)
[personal profile] auntiemeesh
There's probably only one or two people, if that, who actually care about this, but I'm keeping track of my running here as much for my own records as anything else. It's too hard to keep track of any progress made if I don't write it down somewhere.

So, Tuesday after the gym, I felt like total crap. No happy endorphins at all, just tired, tired, tired. This morning, when I got to the gym, I had no energy at all, felt like gravity was exerting an extra strong hold on me, etc. However, the morning run was excellent. The fact that I remembered to take water with me couldn't possibly have anything to do with that, I'm sure. I am now all filled up with those happy endorphins and just feeling really, really good about the fact that I'm doing this again.

I did nine laps in just under half an hour (pathetically slow, still, but speed will come with time, I'm confident). Of those nine laps, I ran seven and a half (ran a mile, walked half a lap, ran a lap, walked another half lap, ran another two and a half, walked the last half lap).

Goals for next week:
*Run five laps before taking the first walking break.
*Run eight of nine laps.

I'm making good progress. I know that I'll probably hit plateaus where I have to hold steady for a while before I can increase distance/speed/whatever, but I'm feeling pretty confident that by spring I'll be able to enter and successfully run a 5K (I'll still be slow enough that I'll finish at the tail end, I'm sure, but that doesn't matter as much as actually being able to do it at all).

So, Supernatural last night. Okay, I get that Sam's pissed at Dean for making such a stupid-ass deal, and that he's determined to save Dean in spite of Dean's stubborn refusal to admit he wants to be saved. And I get that Dean can't admit he wants to be saved because he's too scared of what will happen to Sam. But. I am so tired of the formulaic approach this conversation is taking. Open with the lead-in to the hunt (that's fine, sort of necessary), then go to the boys in the car having an argument about something Sam has done/wants to do in order to save Dean. Dean gets all pissed off and tells Sam to stop it. Sam gets all pissed off and says he won't. Cue the rest the hunt. End episode with tag scene where boys once again square off over the 'yes I will / no you won't' conversation. Boring and predictable. I hope to god they don't intend to do this for the entire season because if it's become old after six episodes, they will lose a lot of viewers by episode twenty.

This whole episode felt like a luke-warm rehash of previous episodes, in a lot of ways. First we take elements from 'Dead in the Water' and 'Bloody Mary,' throw 'em in a blender and serve warm, with a side order of 'Bad Day at Black Rock.' People drowning on dry land - been there, done that. Bathtubs full of slimy water - been there, done that. Spirit that goes after people who've caused others to die and never got caught - been there, done that. Bella getting one over on Dean and then getting caught in the supernatural threat of the week and having to work with the boys in order to save her own life - been there, done that. Resolving the spirit threat by forcing it to confront it's own past, been there, done that (the pilot, Bloody Mary).

On the plus side, this episode had me in stitches several times. Dean's reaction at finding the Impala gone was pretty fucking funny. A little overblown, but funny. It also really pointed out the fact that other than Sam, that car is all Dean has. It's home, family, history, armory, and safe haven all rolled into one. Losing it would be like losing a limb. No wonder Dean had a little panic attack at the thought that it was gone.

Sam getting molested by the little old lady, and his panicky reaction, was priceless. Poor Sam, such a pretty, pretty boy.

Dean's response to Bela's suggestion that they have angry sex after the job was over was also pretty damn priceless. 'Gaping like a fish' is the expression that comes to mind. Feeling so uncomfortable about wearing the tux and then that pleased little smirk that he can't quite hide as he walks away. Too cute. I do love to watch these boys.

So in all, not the best episode this season, by a long stretch, but still entertaining on some levels and maybe next week's episode will be better.

Date: 2007-11-09 02:56 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] beanpot.livejournal.com
Funny how that runner's high makes everything okay.

Date: 2007-11-13 02:04 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] auntiemeesh.livejournal.com
I just wish I could get that runner's high every time I ran. It would make it all much easier to do.

Date: 2007-11-09 03:10 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] whtmtnwmn.livejournal.com
Good for you, getting back into something that makes you feel so good. Hope it just keeps getting better!
=D

Date: 2007-11-13 02:05 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] auntiemeesh.livejournal.com
Well, it seems to be a come and go feel-good experience. But I feel good about making myself do it, regardless of whether the run actually feels good.

Date: 2007-11-09 04:41 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] ani-no-mouse.livejournal.com
Yay for you! Keep those endorphins flowing!
I know what you mean about water - when I was in Santa Fe (where all fluid is sucked out of your body the instant you ingest it) I really felt the difference in my workouts. But after the first few minutes I got those endorphins pumping around anyway.

Date: 2007-11-13 02:06 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] auntiemeesh.livejournal.com
After what happened to me the other year at Christmas, when [livejournal.com profile] lyda_pearl and I went to the gym with you (and again at the hotel gym on the way home), I'm pretty careful about not pushing myself too hard when I'm dehydrated. That sort of 'think I'm gonna puke and pass out' feeling is just so not fun.

Date: 2007-11-09 06:18 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] wishkey.livejournal.com
Yay running! Keep up the good work!

Date: 2007-11-13 02:07 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] auntiemeesh.livejournal.com
I mean to. Its too good of a thing to do, to not keep doing it, even on days like this, when it kind of sucks.

Date: 2007-11-13 12:03 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] lyda-pearl.livejournal.com
wow, endorphins, I always thought they were just make believe like the boogey man

Date: 2007-11-13 02:08 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] auntiemeesh.livejournal.com
I don't know. Some days I really feel pumped up after my run, and other days I just feel completely wiped. Today is one of the completely wiped days. Maybe it's just a Tuesday thing.

Profile

auntiemeesh: (Default)
auntiemeesh

January 2017

S M T W T F S
12 34567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 29th, 2026 01:06 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios