auntiemeesh: (chess)
[personal profile] auntiemeesh
I just finished season four of Gilmore Girls. So, way back when Rory and Dean were still dating (with Jess the ever present shark circling in the water) I hoped Dean would be her first (especially in 'not Jess being her first') because for all his faults, and he's got 'em in spades, he's a good guy and he would do it right.

And then, he is her first, only he's MARRIED TO LINDSEY AT THE TIME! Such stupid, stupid children they are. I know Rory is young and she's only ever really dated these two guys and everyone's got her all thinky because she hasn't dated in a year and Dean is her 'one that got away.' But. You just don't sleep with married men (and don't get me started on 'don't marry your girlfriend when you're eighteen and still hung up on your ex'). Just such a mistake on so many different levels. First, it's just unambiguously wrong from a moral/ethical standpoint. I don't care that they're not working out, they're still together and it's wrong. Second, it's just going to lead to so much pain. Dean is a good guy, and I betcha anything he's going to regret this later and be all awkward. Plus, if Lindsey gives him even the slightest break, he's going to keep trying to make it work, because other than having a temporary break down and doing something really stupid, he is a good guy and he's going to keep trying to make things work as long as she gives him even the slightest reason to. I could be wrong but considering the spoilers I've seen for the rest of the series I don't foresee a happy ending for these two.

But hey, yay, Luke and Lorelai kissed(and yeah, spoilers and all, I knew it was coming eventually, but I didn't know it would be now)! I was sitting there shouting (yes, sometimes I talk/shout/whatever to the people on the tv. I know they can't hear me, I do it for my own sake, not their's) 'just shut up and kiss him already' when Luke stepped up to the plate. I loved their little 'what are you doing?' 'Just stand still' routine. God love 'em, they are cute together.

And look at Jess. Starting to grow up. I say starting because boy, he has a long way to go still. You don't just show up at the girl's door and ask her to run away with you, when you skipped out on her a year ago and have barely even spoken once since then. Jeez, the boys on this show are dumb. That's the problem with them being boys. They need a good ten more years before they become anything other than half-trained puppies.

Speaking of boys who are all grown up, let me just say how much I love Steven Culp. I was very excited when I heard he was going to be in Miller's Crossing. And I really liked the character he played here. Henry Wallace isn't really all that different from McKay and the others on Atlantis. He's extremely smart, pretty self-centered, and willing to do whatever it takes to keep the people he cares about alive. When his daughter is dying, he injects her with experimental nanites. When, surprise, surprise, that only makes things worse, he kidnaps the two people most likely to be able to fix things in time.

I loved the parallel between Wallace kidnapping Jeanie and Rodney, and the Atlanteans kidnapping John's Wraith buddy. The fact that Rodney finds himself spouting almost exactly the same motivational speech (up to a point) shows that he isn't unaware of the irony himself.

Wallace doesn't ever regret doing whatever he could to save his daughter, although he does regret the fact that his blind determination will almost certainly cost someone else her life as well. And in the end, he sets things right.

And wasn't that an interesting little pair of scenes. John knows what it's like to be fed upon, and he has no intention whatsoever of letting anyone he cares about or is responsible for ever experience that, their own choice or not. And Rodney, slash goggles or not, is his best friend. No way is that ever gonna happen. I was afraid for a second that he was going to take on the role of human poptart himself, but the choice that he did make was so much darker. Unmercifully laying all the cards out on the table for Wallace, not forcing him to do anything but emotionally manipulating him until he's ready to make the choice himself. There is no way that isn't going to haunt John for a long time to come. He's never going to regret keeping both Jeanie and Rodney alive, but the fact that he deliberately manuevered someone into allowing a Wraith to feed? Yeah, that's a weight that's going to sit on his shoulders pretty heavily.

I am really liking this season so far. So much of last season was a joke, with the episodes seemingly coming straight out of the crack fic. There is certainly still an element of the good crack this season, but it doesn't feel like a sitcom masquerading as a drama this season. They are allowing a lot more of the continuity, the long arcs that make a show really rewarding to watch. And yeah, I still wish they were better at some things, such as character development (while Ronon has been allowed to really develop over the past two and a half seasons, from a half-wild mountain lion perched on the doorstep to a pretty well functioning human being, Teyla is still under-utilized and languishing, and Rodney gets reset to 'buffoon setting' frustratingly often) I really do think they've got themselves back on the right track now.

Only one more episode before the break and I can hardly believe we're halfway through the season already. How did that happen? And yay because the hiatus is only a month, with a shorter break than a lot of other shows (thanks to the writers' strike).

So now I'm feeling a trifle unsettled and tv-inspired sad, so I'm not sure what I shall do with the rest of my evening in order to fix things. Possibly watch a movie, possibly read fic. Possibly even read one of my new books. Whatever. I have tea and a sleepy cat in my lap, so all is good.

Date: 2007-12-02 06:43 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] ani-no-mouse.livejournal.com
I think GG (not to be confused with Rory's half-sister's name) went downhill after the 3rd season, but the Rory-Dean season-ending thing really just was too stupid for me to continue to watch it.

Date: 2007-12-03 07:10 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] auntiemeesh.livejournal.com
The stupidity of Rory's choice isn't enough to end the show for me, but just as a character, I'm disappointed in her choice - I see it as a fairly logical choice for the writers to go in, though. She's young and very naive about boys for all that she's so smart in other areas. What I have a real problem with was the writers setting the situation up by having Dean get married at eighteen, with apparently no adults around telling him this is a bad plan, maybe he should wait a little longer to marry the girl. The wedding was almost enough to make me stop watching, with Dean mooning over Rory while drunk at his bachelor party.

Date: 2007-12-03 07:25 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] ani-no-mouse.livejournal.com
Well, I have to admit the whole show was getting just too cute for me before the Rory/Dean thing. I had enjoyed the third season and re-runs of the second season, but just couldn't maintain interest after that.

Profile

auntiemeesh: (Default)
auntiemeesh

January 2017

S M T W T F S
12 34567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 29th, 2026 06:12 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios