auntiemeesh: (hockey puck)
[personal profile] auntiemeesh
They were billing it as Sid vs. Ovie, the quarter-final game between Canada and Russia, determining who gets to continue their quest for Olympic gold and who goes home. This match up was supposed to come on Sunday, with the two teams jostling for positions on the podium, but plans change and now only one would get a chance to medal.

Well, Alexander Ovechkin (Ovie for you non-hockey folks - of the Washington Capitals, one of the Penguins big rivalry teams these days) did not bring his A-game tonight, or even his B-game. He was, quite frankly, a non-threat most of the evening. I'm sure we'll hear later that he had the flu, or was suffering from an undisclosed injury or something. He was out skated, out hit, and managed to injure his hand trying to knock a pass down. I actually felt bad for him. And while Sidney Crosby mostly played well, it was a quiet, in the background sort of play for him, not showing up on the scoreboard at all.

The Russian team looked out of kilter. They managed a few surges, but were mostly unable to put together a strong offensive presence, letting Canada have the puck way too much of the time. To put it simply, Canada spanked Russia's tushy and sent them home to sulk. Final score, 7-3.

Next up is the semi-finals, determining whether Canada (and the US team, who also won today) will be playing for gold or for bronze this weekend.

I must admit I'm a terribly unpatriotic U.S. citizen, since I'm rooting almost completely for Canada to get the gold and the U.S. to get silver.

Date: 2010-02-25 03:23 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] ani-no-mouse.livejournal.com
There is nothing wrong with backing the team made up of your favorite players. The patriotism bit is the least likeable aspect of the Olympics in my book.

Date: 2010-02-26 01:35 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] auntiemeesh.livejournal.com
Well, I have players I like on the US team, too. I think I just feel for the Canadian players because they have so much pressure on them to win gold on their home ice.

Date: 2010-02-25 03:34 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] lyda-pearl.livejournal.com
well, you love sid ;)

Date: 2010-02-26 01:38 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] auntiemeesh.livejournal.com
It's not that, so much. I like Sid, but he's not my favorite. It's just that the Canadian team has an insane amount of pressure on them to win and I don't want them to be crushed under it. I felt much the same last night, watching the women's figure skating. Kim Yu-Na needed to win gold, or she felt her entire country would turn its back on her. That's a hell of a lot of pressure to put on a nineteen year old.

Profile

auntiemeesh: (Default)
auntiemeesh

January 2017

S M T W T F S
12 34567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 08:23 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios