auntiemeesh: (coffee)
[personal profile] auntiemeesh
Okay, got most of a cup of coffee in me and I'm beginning to move on from omg!zombie stage. Mornings are hard, people! I felt hungover this morning and I didn't even have anything to drink last night. How unfair is that?

Yesterday was a pretty good day. I got some shopping done. The little mini-sweater I was looking at online wasn't to be found at Target and I'm not buying it online without trying it on and seeing how it looks, so I'm going back to the drawing board on that one. I did buy a bunch of knee socks, though. I've been wanting some because my lower legs get cold when I'm walking to work in low temps. I was tempted by the over the knee socks, but I'm pretty sure they wouldn't work well with my somewhat less than ideally skinny legs.

I also went to Old Navy, where there were supposed to be some great clearance deals. Well, there were actually a few nice clearance deals but not on anything I actually wanted. So I walked away from there empty handed.

Then on to Best Buy, mainly just because it's there and it's my favorite store. They've rearranged the one in the Waterfront and I didn't like it much. Hard to find anything and the dvd section was much smaller than it used to be. Oh well, the lack of selection meant that once again, I was spared actually spending any money. I also looked at iPods, since mine has completely died. I really do need a new one, but by the time I got to them, I was deeply entrenched in a 'spend no money' head space. I looked at the tiny little nanos, debated the differences between ipods and itouches with the friend I was with, and walked away. I may just have to order one online, since I do need to get one if I'm going to start up running again any time soon.

Later in the evening I did some babysitting, for the same family I was with last weekend. The three-year-old was as delightful as always. Even before her parents left, she was asking when we were going to have more Meeshie days. After they left she told me she wanted to get into her pjs and watch a Steelers game with me. I told her she the game was next week, so she would be able to watch with her parents. "No," she answered, "with you!" So now I've got the little boy who insists on hockey every time I babysit him (such a sacrifice on my part) and the little girl who thinks we will always watch Steelers games together. It's hard to remember sometimes, how much I hated sports up until about two years ago, lol.

Date: 2011-01-30 04:07 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] ani-no-mouse.livejournal.com
yay for resisting spending money on things that aren't really what you want!

Do you have any tapes of Steelers and/or Pens games that you can view with these kids when the actual teams are inconveniently not playing?

Date: 2011-01-30 04:28 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] whtmtnwmn.livejournal.com
I have a friend who calls Best Buy "the happiest place on Earth".
=D

Date: 2011-01-30 04:56 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] westwindschild.livejournal.com
Sounds like a good day!
Good luck getting the perfect iPod.

Date: 2011-01-30 05:21 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] wbkbb.livejournal.com
Sorry you weren't able to find what you were looking for, but at least you didn't waste money on things you didn't want.

I'm so glad you've realized the allure of being a sports fan!

Date: 2011-01-30 09:59 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] antbee362.livejournal.com
What a fan club you have! Kids are the best!
I can't imagine BestBuy being a favorite store. Took me quite by surprise. I would have to vote for either a book store or a fabric store for my favorite, I think, although I also love stationary stores and hardware stores. Appliances and electronics--not so much. Is this a generational thing do you think?

Date: 2011-01-31 08:28 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] ansostuff.livejournal.com
I'm in the "spend no money" space too. Yet I want to go out and check out the sales to see if there is something interesting anyway. :P We'll see what I do about that.

Date: 2011-01-31 11:38 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] lyda-pearl.livejournal.com
Yeah, you who told me you couldn,t get the superbowl on your tv and the steelers were in it

Profile

auntiemeesh: (Default)
auntiemeesh

January 2017

S M T W T F S
12 34567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 05:53 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios