auntiemeesh: (hurley-slightlytookish)
[personal profile] auntiemeesh
I watched Lost last night. You can tell they're really ramping it up for the final three hours. My thoughts ahead.

Well, Kate's secret is really out there, now, thanks to Sawyer and Hurley. Poor Hurley needs to start writing down who knows whose secrets. Keep a little cheat sheet tucked away somewhere which he can pull out before he speaks.

I really want to know more about Walt. He saw something when Locke grabbed his arm. Something that frightened him enough that he's suddenly ready to leave the island, when a few days ago he was willing to burn the raft in order to stay. What did he see and more importantly, how did he see it? What is inside that hatch and is it connected to the others? Will it release the mysterious sickness that Danielle told Sayeed about? Or is it some other, totally unrelated menace? Inquiring minds want to know.

As much as I sometimes get really tired of Kate's story line, I did like her flashbacks this week. We're finally getting some answers about her, as well as more questions. At least we've finally seen the significance of the little airplane, and why she said it belonged to someone she loved, whom she killed. I felt bad for Tom, but he made a stupid decision, and it's his wife and baby that I really feel bad for. How destroyed that woman is going to feel when she learns that her husband is dead because he chose to jump in the car with Kate, being hunted by the police, rather than stay at the hospital. And I want to know what Kate's crime is. Considering how freaked out her mom got, I'm wondering if she killed her dad or stepdad. You know, a case of stopping an abusive relationship. Or not. I suppose we'll find out eventually.

Sawyer was totally self-serving in this episode, not that he's ever anything else. As attracted to Kate as he may be, he laid it on the line for her pretty brutally. There's nothing on the island that he is willing to stay for, and that includes her. He wouldn't have gone out of his way to betray her, but once he felt threatened, he felt no compunction about exposing her to everyone else.

I think the best part of the episode was that she was partially responsible for Michael being poisoned. She was completely willing to help Sun poison Jin to keep him from going. I'm sure she told herself that it was because she liked Sun and wanted to help her out, but more selfish motives had to have played a part as well. Would she have been so quick to suggest poisoning him, if she hadn't desperately wanted a spot to open up for her on the raft?

Now for my Charlie moment. I have to say that just a few days ago I was lamenting the fact that even though he gave up drugs for his guitar, we've barely seen him touch it. So I was very happy to see him playing and composing new songs this week. My favorite line: "Track 2 -- Monster eats the Pilot." That's a cheerful little title for his new song. I wonder what the rest of the album is going to be like. Track 1 -- Kabloom!, Track 3 -- Give me my f*&%ing drugs, Track 4 -- Can't talk now, I'm dead. I also liked his ramble about being famous once they get rescued, which prompted all of Kate's insanity this episode. Careless words and all that.

Can't wait for next week's episode. But now I need to head off for work.

Date: 2005-05-12 11:10 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] dcdiva.livejournal.com
I think turniphead was also pleased at Charlie's return to song writing. Don't let the crying fool you.

Date: 2005-05-12 06:01 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] auntiemeesh.livejournal.com
I love Turniphead. What a great name for the little guy, lol. And I absolutely agree with you, I'm sure he loved the music and just wanted more of that. That's why he was crying. :)

Date: 2005-05-12 11:13 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] pipspebble.livejournal.com
What? Your favorite moment wasn't "You can stay with me in LA - you and Turniphead"? :-) I adore Charlie! And how silly of me to love that Claire was trying to trim his hair! They looked quite domestic, didn't they? Looked like a clear invitation to some yummy Charliefic. *bats eyes innocently* Hop, hop, hop...

Date: 2005-05-12 06:04 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] auntiemeesh.livejournal.com
I did love the domesticity of Claire cutting Charlie's hair while he was fiddling around with the guitar, and the baby in the cradle right there. Too sweet! I'm not making any promises about Charliefic but I'll see what comes to me. You know me, I'm not really a shippy writer, so if I do attempt to write something, there will definitely be angst and woe involved somewhere, lol. :)

Date: 2005-05-13 09:09 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] pipspebble.livejournal.com
Well, nothing wrong with a little indecision about entering into a relationship. But a stolen kiss or two would be a nice starter. ;-)

Date: 2005-05-13 09:39 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] auntiemeesh.livejournal.com
Of course, the bunny that's hopping around in my head now is a futurefic. Eighteen years from now, little Turniphead is all grown up (well, sort of) and heading off to college. Someone turns on the radio and an old Drive Shaft song, "Turniphead" comes on. Then not-so-little Turniphead has to explain that the song is named after him, not the other way around. Anyway, I'll keep thinking.

Date: 2005-05-13 01:16 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] pipspebble.livejournal.com
LOL! Oh, I love it! I'm about to be off-computer until Monday - unless my poor old one comes back from Computer Clinic this weekend; I'll look forward to seeing what's happened over the weekend. **hugs**

Date: 2005-05-12 04:34 pm (UTC)
shirebound: (Thinker - Sandy80461)
From: [personal profile] shirebound
How did Sawyer know that the dead girl's I.D. was in Kate's bag? I find that very suspiciousssss.

I can't *imagine* what's inside that hatch. I wonder if the writers even know yet!

Charlie and Turniphead! *loves*

:D

Date: 2005-05-12 06:30 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] auntiemeesh.livejournal.com
I do love Charlie and Turniphead. Only he could get away with a name like that for the poor little baby. *loves Charlie and Turniphead*

I hope the writers have an idea of what's inside that hatch, cause otherwise they're writing themselves into a pretty unpleasant corner.

Didn't Sawyer come upon Kate while she was burning the photo off Joanne's I.D.? Someone did and I thought it was him.

Date: 2005-05-13 08:31 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] westwindschild.livejournal.com
And I want to know what Kate's crime is. Considering how freaked out her mom got, I'm wondering if she killed her dad or stepdad. You know, a case of stopping an abusive relationship.

Did you catch the snippet on the time capsule cassette, where Tom says to Kate "You always want to run away" and she answers "And you know why". I certainly jumped to the conclusion that there was something nasty at home.
The Kate backstory certainly gave lots of material for flights of imagination - I am more curious than ever about her.

I was amused by the title of his song - such a sweet guitar melody, and he calls it Monster Eats the Pilot. Truly a Charlie moment, there. And I just loved him calling the baby Turniphead. Such an adorable nickname for a baby! Ever so much better than our Dad's favorite baby nickname - Skeezix.

Can't wait for next week's episode - too bad I won't be able to watch it till I get back from Texas.

Date: 2005-05-13 08:43 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] auntiemeesh.livejournal.com
Well, you know, if Turniphead was your nickname, you might start looking at Skeezix more fondly, lol.

*hugs*

Profile

auntiemeesh: (Default)
auntiemeesh

January 2017

S M T W T F S
12 34567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 29th, 2026 05:02 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios